Sunday, May 3, 2009

adjustments

Did I mention that I was busy? Having a kid leaves precious little time for personal hobbies, not to mention doing all the little things around the house like cleaning, sleeping etc. We can't just lounge around all day on the weekend anymore. This is not news to anyone with kids, or to us for that matter, just sort of the way it is right now. I have not yet learned how to manage my time to fit in stuff like exercise, writing, or house projects, not to mention thank you cards. Hilary has been working on them but as of yet we have not sent any yet. 
My work is driving me nuts. Just having to work at all kind of sucks, especially after 6 weeks off. Adjusting to this new schedule of seeing Mariana only 2 hrs a day and on the weekends has been much more difficult 
than I anticipated.
 Staying an hour late was no big deal before, the norm even. Now it means I don't see her at all before her bedtime. It's torturous to be there any longer than necessary and we have not even been all that busy yet. 
Just look at how damn cute Mariana is and you'll realize how she can make the stress melt away. She is such a good baby. We are incredibly lucky. We find ourselves saying this a lot and wondering how we would handle having a baby that was very fussy. Would it matter? Would you love them just the same and just deal with it? yeah, of course...
This video is from Hilary's afternoon in the park with our friends Rachel, Malchus and their twin daughters. I think Hilary is adjusting very well to her new (and temporary?) role as stay at home Mom. It helps that the weather has been so nice and that she has been able to hook up with friends a lot. 
The picture at he top shows Mariana enjoying her first taste of chocolate sorbet. Hilary drew a Van Dyke moustache on her face in chocolate. Nice Mom, nice.              
Latest accomplishments for Mariana: peekaboo, crawling (backwards a few steps today) saying Dada (ok, maybe a stretch but I heard what I heard ok?!) eating more and more solids - this week: avocados, bananas with yogurt, cheerios, and sweet potatoes. She also seems to know the word kiki for cat. 

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Hi Joey and Hilary,

Hope it o.k. that I am horning in on your joy and reading your blog... Marina is a doll!!!!!!!!!!

I would love to acknowledge her arrival with a gift... can you send me your address? My email address is rseippel@earthlink.net

My best to the 3 of you!

Rosemarie

innBrooklyn said...

glad you made/found time for a post! (i'm mostly just commenting in the interests of stimulating the comments section and to prove that your fan base is ever vigilant to new entries)

Anonymous said...

hi uncle joey and aunt hilary,

i looooooved mariana she is sooooo cute and adorable!
i cant wait to see you all again in july

xoxoxo,
lisa ♥