Sunday, July 5, 2009

C-I-L-L my neighbors

Yesterday we went to a gathering at my parents house. Unfortunately my Mom is in the hospital again so the party was moved from the Poconos to their house. We're all worried about her and hoping for the best. We went to visit her in the Hospital and I hope Mariana brightened her day a bit. Back at the party Mariana was passed from lap to lap and arms to arms by the 423 people in my family. She was a trooper, smiling and being her usual chill self. 
 
I want to kill my neighbors. Dead.
We got home at 10pm or so and just as we had feared there was a party going on in the building behind ours. The music was loud- really, REALLY f*ing LOUD. Mariana slept all the way home but was now waking up to the thunderous bass echoing between the buildings. We had left all our windows open so when we came upstairs it felt like we were inside a club. Closing the windows reduced the noise only slightly and we still had to practically shout at each other while sitting on the couch. We put her down to sleep and crossed our fingers. They've been having parties back there recently and she grew up in Bogota so she can sleep through plenty of noise. But this one was so far over the top it was unbearable. They were set up outside with a DJ and a full-on PA system. Hilary went to ask them to turn it down and they basically laughed at her. The 81st Precinct did pretty much the same thing when she called them. Mariana slept for a little while but then started waking up every 2 hours or so. Finally sometime past 3-4 am the noise stopped but Mariana still couldn't sleep. THEN ALL DAY. The poor thing is so exhausted she can barely crawl. She's all limp and whiny. Who is this kid?! We went for a long walk in the stroller. Nothing. We went for a long drive and only got a few winks out of her. It was almost like she was afraid to sleep. Every time she started nodding off she'd wake herself up crying and then have to be picked up. It screwed up her eating, napping, everything. It was such a beautiful day here in NY and the entire day was wasted. SOOO I want to kill my thoughtless scumbag neighbors. I laid in bed fantasizing about hosing them all down with the garden hose on the roof, making sure to give the turntable and speakers a good soaking. Zap, music's off!! I thought about throwing a Molotov cocktail down on them. Ok, that's a lie but I'll never understand how some people can be so completely disrespectful of everyone around them. In walking around with Mariana in the stroller today I could really see the incongruity of this neighborhood through my sleep deprived haze. Lots of flowers and people taking care of their houses, kids playing on the swings in Saratoga Park. It's really a very pretty neighborhood with lots of decent people. We chatted with a few neighbors who were also pissed off about the music. Maybe if enough of us say something, they'll listen. Then again, a well placed firebomb could do the trick too. Kidding! I'm just kidding.


here is a picture of Mariana with Poppi and some of her girlie cousins

No comments: