I think today was really the first day she called me Dada. I mean she pointed at me and said "Dada" when I sat down next to her. I approve. Yesterday when I got home Hilary showed me her newest word, "outside". It's a little slurry but it's clear that she's repeating sounds and words now. Friday I got a call while I was at work saying that Mariana was standing at the door, banging and saying "outside, outside, outside!" It seems we've hit a turning point. She'll now be able to tell us what she wants. Yikes. I keep waiting to hear the f bomb drop from her lips since it's her Mothers favorite word. Soon enough I suppose...
Monday will be a big deal. She will officially know us longer than she didn't- 7 months without us, 7 months with us. We are so hopelessly in love with this little girl. I've spent a lot of time worrying lately; about work, about the house but mostly about my parents. Having Mariana around is such a bright spot in my life. I've been thinking about us as a family and wondering about the future and how Mariana will handle us getting old like we are with our own parents. The Nana and Poppi that she knows are very different than the people in my head. The Mom in my head drives around in a yellow Lincoln, has her own real estate business and looks like Stephanie Powers looked in Hart to Hart. Not the fragile white haired woman sitting in a chair with weird giant blue boots on her legs. Will she ever know how energetic and caring my Mom is? How funny and endearing my Dad is? The Dad in my head still has lots of dark hair in his beard, plays golf every day and does yard work in the middle of August in a turtleneck. Not the 80 yr old man that has a hard time driving at night and seems worn out trying to take care of my Mom. The truth is that that IS them. They still are those people. How will Hilary and I change over the years and how will Mariana remember us? Will Mariana know how her Mother changed her entire life around when she came along? And how will she remember me?
this photo features Mariana with a mouthful of peas
see Mariana entertain in this video. Damned youtube wouldn't accept the music I put with it. Grrr... But you'll see just how sweet she is; trying to get everyone involved, going from person to person with a ball.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lKBcyshFlU
No comments:
Post a Comment