Friday, March 11, 2011

Just ride baby

We went out tonight because Mariana wanted to ride her bicycle. It's actually a tricycle but hey, close enough. I was dragging my ass after working all day and really didn't want to go down to the basement to get her tricycle. This activity also often involves going up and down the block in the cold with breaks for hysteria. She has a tendency to get really frustrated by scooters and ridey things if she can't do it herself. Very independent that one. However since we last tried this tricycle she's grown a few inches and she can now reach the pedals easily. It made a big difference. We went up and down the block once with her just pushing along with her feet and me pushing from behind. On the 2nd trip I asked her to try putting her feet on the pedals while I pushed so she could begin to learn that motion, that wonderful magical spinning in circles motion that is bike riding. I WILL MAKE HER A CYCLIST DAMNIT! It was so cool to see how she can steer now too. The whole thing ended up reminding me of the inevitability of her growing up. That however she may seem now it won't last as she continues to learn and develop new skills - good and bad. I think I felt a simultaneous wave of pride and pang of regret that she's not so little anymore.

1 comment:

Tia Nueva said...

What no pictures????