Monday, November 1, 2010

Two, please be over soon, thank you

Here's Mariana in her full glory making her "cheese face". Halloween was really uneventful this year. She's still too little to really get it. But boy is it fun for us to dress her up in humiliating costumes!
M is in the full blown "terrible two" stage and we're in the full blown "oh shit, what if our kid is becoming a brat" stage. She can have a hair trigger temper some days and some days she's fine and dandy. It can be incredibly aggravating. It can make you want to smack her. It can change to a big smile and loviness in an instant though and make you remember that people say it's just a phase that will pass. In the moment it can be so difficult to realize that. Hilary and I are constantly having to check each other. Some days it's obvious- one of us keeps getting mad while the other one is chill and steps in to diffuse the situation. Other days.... not so much, and that's when things get ugly. I've found myself yelling at M and getting petty over the dumbest things. "Sit in your chair until we all finish eating!!" Why does it matter? And really...who cares? She'll learn table manners eventually so why wig out over it now? Parenthood has revealed some ugly things within me but hopefully I'll learn a few things along the way and be a better man for it.


No comments: