
Ah the life of the unemployed... I'm sitting here this afternoon killing time on the computer and thinking about what sides to make with the flank steak I have marinating since last night. I'm not sure what's more disturbing; the shrinking bank account or the fact that I don't even feel like looking for work. I've been home for 2 weeks now and I've realized something: working sucks. For the first time since 1993 I don't have any work on the horizon and it feels oddly good. I've made a few calls and there may be some work happening in December but for now I'm sort of a house Dad. Hilary has a couple of projects going so I've been doing the bulk of Maña duty. For the most part it's been great but I wonder how long the current peaceful state of mind will last. Mariana has days where she's a complete angel. It usually coincides with a day when I'm chill and happy. Then when I have a short temper she's difficult to handle. Hmmm, no kidding right? You mean, she feeds off what I do?! Duh- but not always possible to chill out and be the good/happy-guy/fun Dad. Sometimes I'm the "fly off the handle Spaz Dad" who screams at her for running away when I say "go wash your hands please" or slams the table in anger when she throws her fork with the ravioli on the carpet. Then I have to chill out and apologize for freaking out and try to make her understand that I don't like it when she does that shit. Overall it's been an interesting and transitional time for us these past few months. What it's transitioning to I have no idea. All I know is that I've had a lot more time with Mariana and that's a good thing.
In the photo you may notice a slight distraction on Maña's face. That's because Sesame Street is on over my shoulder. Also the glistening thumb that was just in her mouth - a requirement when holding Teddy but that Pain in the ass Dad made her take out for the photo.
No comments:
Post a Comment